It could happen · Knock on the Head · Self help · Tuesdays with Shail

Tuesdays with Shail 1.8 The Victim Card

I am trying hard to remember – when did I cease living for myself? When did my life become points which I remember more with classes passed, sickness overcome, hurt swallowed, bridges made between relationships… all for someone else.

When did life become, ‘let’s get over with this finally, and get to lead my life? ‘

Now, I understand truly the couples who prefer to not have kids. Maybe, they aren’t confident of being great parents or maybe, they just do not want any hassles in their lives even if they never get to hear the gurgle of a child. I suppose, they have the sixth sense to understand that the gurgle could turn into Google-kind-of-know-all attitude years later when they expect more peace and a wee bit of sensitivity, having rolled along the parenting track with so much enthusiasm and persistence.

It’s not that I am a parental freak or a control moron. I know what that is having witnessed it time a dozen as a child. It’s just that the least you expect after years of rearing a child is the ability to be able to live life on one’s own terms finally or simultaneously.

But, in an area of tech living, tech dating, tech gaming, tech working, even sensitivity has become tech transformed. To add to it is the pandemic that messed minds further, making people think, “Tomorrow may never come so why bother! Live for today. And, anyone who comes in the way, preaching about paving a way out for tomorrow, let them go to hell. They never suffered a pandemic when they were young. So, what do they know! “

There! The victim card is all ready, to be used when they falter, to manipulate when things go wrong, to defy responsibility when questioned, to be carried as a badge on one’s sleeve for justification of unfair behaviour.

I belong to the sandwiched generation like many amongst us who got disciplined by parents and children. I belong to the generation that is still forced to stand in the witness box both, by parents and kids. And, we are expected to perform to perfection.

We are no longer gentle bridges between our parents and their grandchildren. We have instead, become mortal machines of answerability and, we carry on attempting to make the people who matter to us most, happy.

The point is, are we succeeding?

4 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Shail 1.8 The Victim Card

  1. I HEAR YOU in bold. It’s uncanny how my thoughts are translated into your words. Parent to a teen and a pre-teen, I can’t tell you how I could relate to this.

  2. I feel you! It’s so hard to find time for yourself when you’re juggling responsibilities for kids, work, elderly parents and keeping up a house. No wonder we’re all exhausted all the time!

Leave a comment