Following My Heart…..

 IMG_0118

The most vivid choice that I made in life was when I thwarted a fiftyish man from trying to grope me from behind. I yelled out at him in the bus I was travelling. I was a school going kid, a teenager and felt utterly violated when I found a man old enough to be my father getting too close for comfort. I could not muster up enough guts to slap him but I gave him a lecture of my life right there in the bus that I am sure he never forgot.

 

I walked into my house from the bus stop, rushed to my room and burst out crying.
I learnt two valuable lessons that day.

 
One, to never keep quiet when exploited.
And two, I discovered that I had suddenly become a fantastic elocutionist. It was after this incident that I began taking part in elocutions and debates and I always won!

 
I had made a choice then. And, I was to make many more choices later on in life. Mom wanted me to become a teacher. Dad wanted me to become an I.A.S. Officer. I wanted to become none of them. So, off I ran to a Career Guidance Centre and got a test done and presented the report to my parents. The report stated Journalism.

 
Nothing doing, I was told. The Career Guidance folks called up my father and asked him to meet them. He did and discovered the scientific methods used in tracking my field of interest and abilities.

 
And today, they both are proud of my literary acumen.

 
I could have kept silent and suffered a probable molestation.

 
I could have opted for I.A.S. or B.Ed and stayed unhappy my entire life.

 
But, I chose to make a difference, and one hell of a difference it has been!

 

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54493_55_1D439DF3DE65195643C896BF9FAADE7F

 

Here, in the following audio I speak about how I felt and did while making my choices.


Journey from ‘OR’ to ‘AND’
Your story of how you took charge of life and made a choice, not a compromise. When you refused to choose one thing OR the other, and instead followed your heart.

 

This post is a part of #UseYourAnd activity at BlogAdda in association with Gillette Venus“.

Leave a Reply

