Review of ‘The Purple Moon’ An Anthology of Poems

Title: The Purple Moon
Poet: Neelam Saxena Chandra
Publication: First Step Publishing
Genre: Poetry
Price: Paperback: Rs200, E-Book: Rs50

purpleWriting a love poem might seem an easy task to many.
“All you have to do is write a few lines about emotions, about yearning and longing. And bingo! There, you have a poem on love” they say.
Not that easy folks! Firstly, one needs to have felt the emotion called love – in whatever form – for the lover, husband, wife, mother, father, sister, brother, son, daughter, nature, pet or the Lord. Secondly, poetry is no child’s play. Not everyone has the knack for it. Neelam Saxena Chandra has it!
The poetry collection begins with the poem, ‘The Purple Moon’ which is the title of the book.

‘The moon appears purple
Since I have met you’

‘In love as well as in the purple moon
There is mysticism and magic
And both are as charming as ever.’

The anthology also uniquely ends with a poem titled, ‘Visit To The Purple Moon’ which talks about love that drowns one in it completely, very close to the feeling of divinity.
Writing a collection of poems on the different shades of love is not an easy task. Again, it is difficult to write not one, five or ten poems but 100 poems on love. Well! Neelam has done it and successfully so.
For example, in the poem, ‘On Life And Living’ she beautifully writes,

‘The azure of the sky
Refused to colour my being
And I lay
With murky hues
Surrounding me.’

Obviously, in a collection of 100 poems, there will be some favourites. To the extent of leaving out innumerable lovely poems from this review (after all, you have to read them from the book too?) I shall mention a few.
In ‘My Ink’ Neelam writes:

‘The ink
Shall freeze one day,
Or it may lose
Its colour
And while words get written
They may remain invisible.’

‘It could even be
That the hands quiver
And refuse to deliver
What the mind says,
Or the eyes just can’t read
The written words.’

‘Will you be by my side–
Reading to me,
Writing for me
And give my ink
Some colours?’

‘Do You’ is another favourite of mine, written simply and emotionally.

‘I shall soon be asleep
In a world
Where pain does not matter
Where nothing hurts
Where even stinging words
Carry no meaning
Where the duality in natures
Won’t upset me.

When I sleep thus,
Even if
You come and tell me
That you loved me-
It won’t matter anymore.

If you do,
Why not show me before I sleep?’

The book is special to me because I won it as Prize for writing a poem on The Purple Moon.
For a person wanting to read a poetry collection for the first time, I will definitely recommend Neelam Saxena Chandra’s book, The Purple Moon. The imagery is beautiful and the language simple, so much so that even a non-literary person can identify with several of the emotions mentioned in the poems.

neelamNeelam Saxena Chandra, an Engineer by profession, works for the Indian Railways. She shares a world of word fantasy thanks to her incurable passion of writing poetry and fiction. Around six hundred of her stories/poems have been published in various leading Indian as well as international magazines, anthologies and journals. She has many books to her credit which include novels, poetry anthologies and children’s books.Her stories/poems have been transmitted by Akashwani (Radio) also. Neelam has been nominated by Forbes India Magazine among the 100 most well known authors.

2 thoughts on “Review of ‘The Purple Moon’ An Anthology of Poems

Leave a Reply

