Muse n' Motivation

The Thinking Blog!

X for Xanadu

“An idealized place of great or idyllic magnificence and beauty or paradise.” That’s what Xanadu means although it traces its origin to Xanadu or Shang-tu which was an ancient city, now in China and also portrayed in Coleridge’s poem Kubla Khan.

“In Xanadu did Kubla Khan
A stately pleasure-dome decree:
Where Alph, the sacred river, ran
Through caverns measureless to man
Down to a sunless sea.
So twice five miles of fertile ground
With walls and towers were girdled round;
And there were gardens bright with sinuous rills,
Where blossomed many an incense-bearing tree;
And here were forests ancient as the hills,
Enfolding sunny spots of greenery………”

kublah

So, am I living in my Xanadu? Am I happy there? I know not whether materially, I am living in my paradise for the meaning of paradise differs from person to person. What may be my Xanadu may not be so for somebody else.

But, this much I know that my sense of paradise lives in my mind. I wish it and it is there. Somewhat like a magic wand – I can wish it to be there and I can also wish it away.

With the growing years I do have come to understand that a thought can change everything – one’s desires, one’s hope, one’s perspective. So, even if the circumstances may be bad, if I feel that I am living in my Xanadu, I AM. And, even if I have the world’s greatest riches, but within myself I feel lost, forlorn and depressed, then I do not live in my paradise.

My paradise is now in my present. How about you? Where is your Xanadu? How do you visualize it to be?

 

 
For the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge 2014 for the Letter X

4 Comments

  1. Home is where the heart is definitely! My Xanadu is where my dear ones are.. perhaps in any place where we are together. 🙂

    • Yes, Butterflies of TIme. The same for me. Nothing other than their presence, the fun and the frolic, the irritating and the making up…..

  2. oh yesss.. PRESENt is the Xanadu for sure .. Although I long to be home, sweet home where all my loved ones are back in india

    • Hi Bikram. Nice to see you here once again. Yes, the hope, the longing of being with our loved ones is always there. Hoping you are able to be there with them soon.

Leave a Reply

